Arab Maghreb Union (UMA)

The Arab Maghreb Union (UMA) was established under the Marrakech Treaty of 1989 with the primary purposes of: strengthening ties between the five member states; promoting prosperity; defending national rights; and adopting common policies to promote the free movement of people, services, goods and capital within the region.

Article 3 of the Treaty provides that the Union’s objectives are to promote:
• Close diplomatic ties and dialogue between Member States while safeguarding their independence
• Mechanisms for Member States’ industrial, commercial and social development including through common sectoral programmes
• Measures to support Islamic values and the safeguarding of the National Arabic identity through mechanisms such as cultural exchange, research and education programmes.


UMA is a political-level body supported by a secretariat whose headquarters are located in Rabat, Morocco. The structures set out in the Marrakech Treaty are:

• Council of the Presidency, which is the supreme decision-making organ
• Council of the Prime Ministers, which coordinates policy
• Council of Foreign Ministers, which prepares Presidency sessions and examines


Follow-up Committee proposals
• Follow-up Committee, a national officials-level committee tasked with implementing UMA decisions
• Four Special Ministerial Committees, which deal with thematic areas
• General Secretariat, which is the executive for the Union and Consultative Council
• A consultative council, which is composed of legislative representatives from each country and tasked with sharing opinions and recommendations on draft Council of the Presidency decisions.

Members (5)

Algeria,  Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia